WiFi 5 or WiFi 6? Finally WiFi technology can be understood with the new names

Finally, we will be able to speak properly when we talk about the speeds and types of Wi-Fi networks because it is over calling “Wi-Fi 802.11ac networks”, the Wi-Fi Alliance has just announced a nomenclature that finally makes sense and is suitable for all audiences.

Wi-Fi technology has been with us for more than two decades, while most of us refer to wireless networks as simply “wifi”, we have actually used 802.11a, 802.11n and more recently 802.11ac networks.

These names differentiate the different generations of this technology. Each one has different specifications, bandwidth, speed or ping. For example, 802.11ac, which is the most modern technology in use, was developed between 2011 and 2013 and allows transfer in perfect conditions up to 1.3 Gbit / s using 3 antennas in the 5 GHz band.

The new Wi-Fi names will be simpler, for example, the current generation will be known as Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac), while the next generation, the 802.11ax networks that are coming, will be called Wi-Fi. 6.

From now on when you buy a router or your operator gives you one, you will see the following names.

  • 802.11b will be called Wi-Fi 1
  • 802.11a will be called Wi-Fi 2
  • 802.11g will be called Wi-Fi 3
  • 802.11n will be called Wi-Fi 4
  • 802.11ac will be called Wi-Fi 5
  • 802.11ax will be called Wi-Fi 6

Wi-Fi 6 will be released sometime in 2019, reaching maximum speeds of up to 11 Gbps /s. This technology will be used to make the most of the new fiber optic connections, but also to accommodate all the Wi-Fi products we started to have. Televisions, players, game consoles, mobile phones, tablets, laptops, connected objects … a sea of gadgets that need a stable internet connection.

Info + Website

Leave a Comment